Buy your magazine locally:
Find a stockist HERE
%PM, %23 %593 %2015 %13:%Dec

Thorne On Top Form

Big Weights dominate Bait-Tech Canal Championship.
This years Bait-Tech Canal Championship has got off to an awesome start, with more than 20lb being required to frame in both of the qualifiers so far!

Tom Scholey, who organises the series alongside Matt Godfrey and Lee Kerry explained: “Although it has always proved popular, we all felt that the Thorne series needed a bit of an overhaul, so rather than running the event as a league, we have decided to have a series of qualifiers and a final, similar to the system used on the Soar Masters and at Evesham.

This has allowed us to use some different sections to normal, including the prolific Stanilands Marina, which has been where most of the big weights of skimmers have come from. Although this has dominated the frame places, the rest of the canal is fishing brilliantly too, with 17lb only good enough for a section win in many areas!

Anglers have to win their sections to qualify for the big-money final,  though places default down – so as the series progresses, in theory it should become easier for anglers to qualify.”

In support of the idea, sponsors Bait-Tech have upped their support of the series, pledging more than £2,000 worth of bait and vouchers, all to be paid out on the final on the 14th February.

Remaining Qualifying Matches:

Qualifier Sunday, December 27th, 2015
Qualifier Sunday, January 17th, 2016
Qualifier Sunday, January 31st, 2016
Grand Final Sunday, February 14th, 2016

To book on, contact: Tom Scholey on 07971620489, Matt Godfrey on 07917 711722 or Lee Kerry on 07739 342929

Round One Result:
1 Shaun Wright (Maver) 24-4-0 (peg 294)
2 Tom Scholey (Pole Fishing Magazine) 21-2-0 (peg 299)
3 Cameron Hughes (Rive) 21-1-0 (peg 297)
4 James Dent (MAP/ Sensas) 17-8-0 (peg 233)
= Sean Ashby (Sensas) 17-8-0 (peg 226)

Click here for a video interview with the winner!

Shaun Wright
Tom Scholey
James Dent
Sean Ashby
Ben Roberts
Lee Kerry
Gary Smith

Round Two Result:

1 Cameron Hughes (Rive) 32-4-0 (peg 302)
2 Matt Godfrey (Pole Fishing Magazine) 28-4-0 (peg 297)  
3 Tom Scholey (Pole Fishing Magazine) 25-12-0 (peg 300)
4 Sean Ashby (Sensas) 17-8-0 (peg 203)
5 Joe Cotterill (Tri-Cast Calder) 17-4-0 (peg 299)

Click here for a video interview with the winner!

Cameron Hughes
Rob Holt
Alan Scotthorne
Gordan Smith
John Deakin
Mick Bower

Other titlesmf magfeedermatch livepf plusthink fishing