Buy your magazine locally:
Find a stockist HERE
%PM, %04 %763 %2016 %17:%Feb

Godfrey Gold At Thorne

Thorne victory for Pole Fishing ace.

The Stainforth & Keadby Canal  near Thorne was once again on fine form for the final qualifier of the Bait-Tech Canal Championship. Winner on the day was Pole Fishing’s own Matt Godfrey, who caught 23-6-0 of bream and skimmers from peg 162 on the Wykewell Bridge section.

Matt explained: “I started off fishing by my net as I normally do and put the odd perch in the net, but after ten minutes fishing several anglers around me were latching into skimmers, so I just had to have a look on the long pole where I had fed my more positive swims. After a couple of small fish, I latched into something much bigger, which turned out to be a 4lb bream! By fishing a couple of inches of line on the bottom and two bloodworms on the hook, I was able to pick up three more bream to 4lb, as well as a host of better skimmers and roach. Not your typical Stainy catch from this area, but I wasn’t complaining!”

Runner up on the day was Matrix Dynamite Trentmen ace  Adrian Higginbottom, who caught an impressive 15-10-0 from peg 199. Adrian caught on hemp tactics on the long pole. Third overall was Oliver Scotthorne, who was next to Adrian on peg 200. Oliver weighed 12-12-0, and caught on bloodworm to start with, and hemp later.

This was the fifth and last of this years Bait-Tech Canal Championship qualifiers, with the line up now confirmed for the 33 peg final, which is taking place on the 14th February.


1 Matt Godfrey (Pole Fishing Magazine) 23-6-0 (peg 162)
2 Adrian Higginbottom (Matrix Dynamite Trentmen) 15-10-0 (peg 199)
3 Oliver Scotthorne (Halkon Hunt) 12-12-0 (peg 200)
4 Lee Kerry (Preston Innovations /Sonubaits) 12-4-0 (peg 227)
5 Ben Roberts (Tri-Cast Weston Pools) 10-10-0 (peg 194)

See below for a video interview with the winner!

The qualifiers, and anglers competing in the Bait-Tech Canal Championship Final are:

1) Chris Greensides
2) Adrian Higginbottom
3) Nick Moss
4) Mark Waiwright
5) Jordan Holloway
6) James Dornom
7) Darren Frost
8) Matt Godfrey
9) Brian Hawkes
10) Frankie Gianoncelli
11) Lee Wright
12) Paul Slack
13) Aaron Wells
14) Cameron Hughes
15) Rob Holt
16) Alan Scotthorne
17)Gordan Smith
18) John Deakin
19) Mick Bower
20) Shaun Wright
21) Tom Scholey
22) Pete Kitwood
23) Sean Stockley
24) Matt Parkin
25) Oliver Scotthorne
26) Tom Potter
27) Gavin Liversedge
28) Bryan Martin
29) James Dent
30) Sean Ashby
31) Ben Roberts
32) Lee Kerry
33) Gary Smith


Other titlesmf magfeedermatch livepf plusthink fishing